November 2010 and it all happens at once…how exciting!

It’s just three hours and five minutes until the official start time for NaNoWriMo, otherwise known as National Novel Writing Month, and I’m excited. November 2010 will be the month I’ll begin and end a novel. Fortunately, the organisers who goad us 130,000 or wo people, worldwide, into doing what seems like a Herculean task, also suggest that Wrimos should “Make no mistake: You will be writing a lot of crap. And that’s a good thing. By forcing yourself to write so intensely, you are giving yourself permission to make mistakes.”

Well, all right! Who’da thunk it? Certainly not I. Or me. Neither of us would.

And so, in less than three hours begins what could arguably be the most exciting and creative month of my life. And no longer can I say “young life” so I really had better get cracking or I’ll be like one of those wonderful old women who finally gets a degree in World History at the age of 92. Oh, yeah, I haven’t got the degree yet either. Never mind. Three things at a time.

Three things? Yes, at least three. First, there is the NaNoWriMo commitment to write 50,000 (different!) words between November 1st and November 30th. I’m doing this because I can’t start yet, other than my pencils are sharpened, my research books are lined up on the table, there’s plenty of coffee to hand and I’ve been using heavy duty cream on my hands and haven’t had my nails done in a while so I won’t clack and will make fewer mistakes.

Lest you think this is a horribly daunting task, it’s not really. That’s a book the length of The Great Gatsby or The Grapes of Wrath or The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. It’s not War and Peace. And, as mentioned, it can be cr*p

Second, I am off to Malaysia for just under three weeks of the month. I need to get a running start on NaNoWriMo because I will lose time for travel and touristing-type days. I already know that. Can I keep up? Who knows. I can try. I have ordered a new lense to hire/rent and am very excited. It’s ‘only’ a Nikon 18-200mm telephoto zoom but, heyho, it gives me chance to try out some new things I’ve been wanting to try out. It isn’t the one that would cost £1557 to buy if I actually wanted one. I’m sure Derek will be pleased about that.
Third, we are going to be putting the house on the “lease with an option to buy” market. Yes, howdy, friends and neighbours, it’s time to move. While the current intention, all going to plan, is to move to Malaysia (see “Second” above) in March of 2011, in the meantime we now have the decision and the impetus to move on to the next phase of our lives…something smaller, perhaps more in the countryside (but not out of the larger general area) and more suited to a couple of borderline old folks ready to get on with the business of slowing down (in some regards) and thinking about upping those sticks and downsizing their lives so they can afford it in their dotage.

And so…on with the November show!

~ by UKCynthiaT on November 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
